PSL 2022: Naseem, Ahsan shine as Quetta Gladiators beat Karachi Kings

Quetta Gladiators register first win in PSL 7 as Naseem Shah's takes five wickets and Ahsan Ali scores 57

PSL 2022: Naseem, Ahsan shine as Quetta Gladiators beat Karachi Kings

KARACHI: Naseem Shah destroyed the Karachi Kings with a five-wicket haul and Ahsan Ali punished the blowers with an unbeaten 57 to lead Quetta Gladiators to an eight-wicket victory and register their first win in the seventh edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL).

While chasing 114, Will Smeed, who scored 30 and Ahsan gave the Gladiators an impressive 76-run opening stand. In the last over, skipper Sarfaraz Ahmed scored three consecutive fours to end the match in style

Mohammad Imran had got the hopes up a bit for the Kings as he dismissed Smeed, but it went to vain. Ex-skipper Imad Wasim was economical with the ball as he conceded 18 runs in four overs.

Quetta chased the small target with ease as the Kings' lose their second successive game this season.

Karachi's innings

Earlier, Quetta Gladiators’ pacer Naseem Shah ran through the batting line-up of Karachi Kings, with his sensational figures of 5-20, restricting them to a 113-run total.

After being invited to bat first by Sarfaraz, Kings' remained under the pump from the beginning as the Gladiators were on the money both with the bowl as well as in the field.

Babar remained the top scorer with 32 runs, otherwise, it was a sorry tale for Kings' who could have got out for even below 100, except Aamir Yamin who scored 20, and Imad Wasim 26.

Sohail Tanvir had earlier wreaked havoc on the Kings’ top order and bagged two wickets in the third over of the match. He sent Sharjeel Khan and Joe Clarke to the pavilion.

In the fifth over, Naseem took two wickets on two consecutive deliveries. He dismissed Mohammad Nabi for a duck. Tom Lammon could score only three runs.

Later in the 15th and 17th overs, Naseem Shah took two more wickets of Mohammad Ilyas and Imad Wasim, respectively. Shah bagged five wickets in the match.

Meanwhile, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, and James Faulkner took one wicket each.

Playing XI

Karachi Kings: Babar Azam (c), Sharjeel Khan, Joe Clarke (wk), Mohammad Nabi, Tom Lammonby, Lewis George, Aamer Yamin, Mohammad Imran, Mohammad Taha, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Ilyas

Quetta Gladiators: Will Smeed, Ahsan Ali, Ben Duckett, Sarfaraz Ahmed(c)(wk), Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Nawaz, Sohail Tanvir, James Faulkner, Ashir Qureshi, Mohammad Hasnain, Naseem Shah